For 75 years, AIR has been a distinctive part of the Indian way of life. From a small beginning, in the form of radio clubs on 23 July 1927 with the experimental transmission in Bombay & Calcutta. Later, Indian State Broadcasting Service was constituted by the Govt. on 1 April 1930. It was renamed as All India Radio on 8 June 1936. All India Radio came to be known as "Akashvani" from 1957. With one of the largest network of SW/MW/FM transmitters, AIR, reaches the remotest corners of the country to serve the people. People living in far flung areas with modest means can have access to its programmes if a small transistor radio set run on dry batteries is available with them. AIR functions on a motto "Bahujana Hitaya Bahujan Sukhaya" i.e. promote the happiness and welfare of the masses through education, information and entertainment.
The Television service in India was started by All India Radio in 1 November 1959 on experimental basis in its Research Department. The regular daily transmission began in 1965. The service was extended to Bombay in 1972. By 1975, the TV services were available in 7 cities. On 1 April 1976 Television was separated from Radio as a new organization and named Doordarshan. National Programme was introduced in 1982. At the time of 1982 Asian Games in Delhi, the black-&-white transmission was converted to colour. Now Doordarshan operates 30 channels in 22 languages and is one of the largest Terrestrial Network in the World. The motto of Doordarshan is "Satyam Shivam Sundaram" which signifies that Doordarshan stands for the Truth which, being another name of the God, is Good for the people also.
  ◙ ◙ ◙ 10th Issue of "Maintenance News (EZ)" has been uploaded... Please see section "News and Events" ◙ ◙ ◙ A Circular related to "Non-transfering of fund in Prasar Bharati Receipt Account", has been uploaded ... Please see section "Circular" ◙ ◙ ◙  
Official Web Site of Office Of the Chief Engineer (E.Z.),  AIR  &  TV,  Prasar Bharti (B.C.I.),  Akashvani Bhawan,  Eden Gardens,  Kolkata,  700 001.
© This Website was Inaugurated by Honourable Sh. Dhruba Ray, E-In-C, Doordarshan on 17th January 2009
This site is maintained by the M/s. S.M.A.R.T. email : Best View in 1024*768 pixles